Federal President

 Enlarge image (© photothek/Thomas Köhler)

The Federal President (in German: "Bundespräsident") is Germany's head of state. He is the constitutional organ which represents the Federal Republic of Germany both at home and abroad. He does so by making the state - its existence, legitimacy, legality and unity - perceptible in all he does and in every public appearance. This highlights his role as a figure of integration and his monitoring function in his capacity as guardian of the law and the constitution. HIs period of office is five years, he can be re-elected only once.

The Federal Convention is the body to elect him. It is made up of members of the German parliament - the Bundestag, and an equal number of members selected by the 16 state parliaments.

Frank-Walter Steinmeier was elected as the 12th German President on 12 February 2017.

(© AA)

The New German President

Germany has a new head of state. The Federal Convention has elected former Foreign Minister Frank-Walter Steinmeier as German President.

Federal President


The President of the Federal Republic of Germany

The Basic Law devotes an entire chapter to the role of the Federal President but the duties of the "first man of the state" both at home and abroad go far beyond those bestowed upon him by the constitution.